Eight Southwestern Transit Agencies Receive Grants for Electric Buses

On August 24, the United States Federal Transit Agency (FTA) announced its 2018 Low- and No-Emission bus grants. The FTA awarded a total of $84.4 million to 52 transit agencies nationwide; of this, seven agencies in Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah will receive $9.2 million. The awards will go to electric buses and charging infrastructure for:

  • Eagle County Transportation Authority,
  • COBreckenridge, CO’s “Electric Breck” plan
  • Summit County, CO
  • Estes Park, CO
  • Tahoe Transportation District, NV
  • Atomic City Transit, Los Alamos, NM
  • Park City Transit, Park City, UT
  • START, Jackson, WY

SWEEP applauds these agencies for starting the transition to electric buses, which reduce energy use, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and reduce transit agency operating costs. SWEEP has advocated for transit electrification across the Southwest, including pushing for states to invest VW settlement funds in electric buses, and advocating for utility investment in charging infrastructure for buses.

This article was originally published on August  by SWEEP the Southwest Energy Efficiency Project

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s